CAKE!

Recipe: A simple white cake with a vanilla frosting.

A few months ago I got an amaaaaaaazing birthday gift – a cake decorating toolkit! WOO! And tonight I finally had the chance to make a cake and used said toolkit to decorate. I decided to go with something simple for the inaugural use, so I went with a simple white cake from scratch, using a recipe I had used previously made, and a white frosting. Usually I stick to whipped-cream-based frostings, but I didn’t think they’d stand up to serious decorating so I had to go a new route – a butter/shortening-based frosting.

The white cake turned out pretty well – seems like it will be a good texture and flavor. I like this recipe because it includes a teaspoon of vanilla AND a teaspoon of almond extract (almond extract = heaven). I was a little hesitant about the frosting just because I’ve never worked with shortening before, but holy cow. SO good. It’s a simple recipe of butter, shortening, salt, a boat full of powdered sugar, some vanilla, and a whole lotta whipping. I will *definitely* be using it again.

The decorating I did was very simple and straightforward – just a simple star/flower pattern on the top. And very fun! I loooooove decorating cakes! The end.

January 25, 2011. Cake.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI