Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie: Project 2 for Cleanin out the Kitchen

pieRecipe: A bittersweet chocolate pecan pie with bourbon in a homemade butter pie crust.

Tonight I’m going to a Friendsgiving (yay for multiple opportunities to eat turkey!) and I wanted my contribution to use various items in my kitchen, given my now current week-long move (WOO). I also wanted an opportunity to try out a new crust recipe from  my friend, Mitch. So, with that in mind, I decided to make a chocolate bourbon pecan pie. My family was never a pecan pie family, which, it turns out, is a HUGE mistake, and I had never even heard of one with chocolate and bourbon, but since I had both of those ingredients on hand, this seemed like a must-do option.

I made the pie crust yesterday evening since it has to chill for a few hours before being used (this is always a step I forget with butter pie crusts since my Mom’s recipe is oil-based and can be used immediately after making). I haven’t always had much success with butter-based crusts so I’m pretty excited to see how this turns out. But I’m optimistic because Mitch knows baking and it’s always a good sign when you can see lines of butter in a pastry pre-baking.

As for the pie filling, like I said, this was driven mainly by the ingredients in my cupboard, but I also found the combination very intriguing. I’m not a huge bourbon fan–that is, I don’t drink bourbons or whiskeys generally–but I always have a bottle on hand for the BBQ sauce I make. So every once-in-a-while, I like to try to use it in my baked goods as well (see Bourbon Pumpkin Cheesecake). Plus, I don’t know anyone who is going to be at Friendsgiving tonight except for my friend, Katie, and her beau, so liquid courage in the dessert seemed like a good thing (except for the technicality that the alcohol will actually all baked off). But anyway, the pie looks fine (the crust got a little more toasted than I would have liked, but I didn’t have any foil and I don’t own one of those pie crust protectors… I think that may have to happen at some point…), so I hope that translates into it actually tasting good. But if it’s just ok and doesn’t get finished, I’ll have a lot of leftovers to down in between shlepping things to my new abode!

November 16, 2013. Bourbon, Chocolate, Pecan, Pie.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

