Banana Bread: Project 1 for using random kitchen ingredients pre move!

photo

Recipe: Typical banana bread ingredients. That’s it.

I’m moving into a new place in less than two weeks (YAY–I got a super cute one bedroom cottage alllllll to myself. No more sharing walls. Got a yard and a deck. Close to Greenlake. It’s all very magical. See below for picture.) and decided today that I should try to bake through some of the more random ingredients I currently have in my kitchen so that I don’t have to move them. One of the more random things is a LOT of frozen bananas…. A banana is almost always somehow involved in my breakfast but sometimes I can’t get through them fast enough and when that happens, I throw them in the freezer. So, as of this morning, I had 10 frozen bananas and really don’t want to move them. Since banana bread is such a glorious glorious thing, the decision to make it my first pre move baking project was easy.

I really love banana bread, but I don’t think I’ve made it in 5 years or so, which is tragic. I should be clear though, I don’t really consider baking banana bread to be baking. I mean, yes, clearly it is. It involves mixing various things together, including leaveners, four, milk, etc, and baking it in an oven. But all in all, I think it took me 10 minutes to throw this puppy together sooooo, yeah, it’s more of a project. But a *delicious* project nonetheless.

My banana bread recipe is incredibly straightforward. The only potentially semi unique thing I do is to use all brown sugar. Also, I don’t use ingredients that I think a lot of people throw in (eg, cinnamon, nutmeg, nuts, etc). I use a dash of cinnamon but that’s all I find I need. This was my first experience using frozen bananas, however, and it was kind of a weird one. I defrosted the bananas in the microwave for two minutes and, when they came out, they were super easy to peel and were very soft. But they smelled VERY bananaey…and not in a good way. The bread tastes delicious so this doesn’t appear to have affected anything, fortunately.

Anyway, I’m pleased to have an easy bread in my kitchen right now–they are happy things. Good way to end a three day weekend! Happy Veterans’ Day out there to all of you who have served or are currently serving!

cottageSoon-to-be new home!

November 11, 2013. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

