Berger Cookies, Take 1

ImageRecipe: A shortbread-type cookie covered in chocolate.

If you’ve never had a Berger cookie from Baltimore you’re seriously missing out. I’m not even much of a cookie person but these cookies… ❤ nothing I could say could do them justice. I love them so much that before leaving DC, I went to four different locations in town where these cookies were supposedly sold, only to find that they weren’t in stock. Unbeknownst to me, my friends similarly went on searches for me and also couldn’t find them, so I ended up ordering two boxes online to be shipped to Indiana for the holidays. The cookie gods were not looking kindly upon me though and I got a notice that they weren’t even going to be shipped until January 1 and I was leaving for Seattle the next day…but my parents love me so they forwarded on one of the boxes and yes, I ate them in a time period that I will not be revealing online. Point? I love them. A lot.

I decided that since it was clearly going to be an issue to get my Berger cookie fix, I would attempt to recreate them. Now this wasn’t the first time I had had this though, so I knew from a previous search that many have attempted this, and many have failed. But I was and continue to be motivated. Not surprisingly, my cookies aren’t anywhere near the glory that is the Berger cookie. This is really very surprising though because these cookies are a very simple concept: a shortbread-type cookie covered (basically encased) in chocolatey, fudgey goodness. But my cookies… well, the cookie was too fluffy and light and there was too much dark chocolate in the fudge–it overpowered the cookie. But this is merely take 1, friends. There will be other attempts. I will recreate these cookies. And I also will be making a gazillion more friends because I’m sure the ones I have aren’t going to be interested in eating attempt after attempt of these cookies, especially since take 1 was so eh.. Fingers crossed for the next time!!

February 13, 2013. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

