5th Birthday Cupcakes

Image

Recipe: A yellow cake cupcake with a chocolate frosting and a white cake cupcake with vanilla buttercream.

I have a cupcake job due tomorrow morning for a 5th birthday party. The party is being held at a bowling alley and while I considered for a while trying to do a bowling themed cupcake, I decided I really didn’t have the energy for that and the woman ordering the cupcakes didn’t seemed concerned either that the cupcakes be all out awesome. So we settled on a “5” on top of the two types of cupcakes.

A few things.

1) For some reason, sometimes when I make cupcakes the cake pulls away from the wrapper and I don’t know why. But it’s not a good thing when you’re trying to sell cupcakes because it looks bad and like someone already tried to dig into the cupcake. No idea why this is happening, but it’s annoying. Basically all of the remaining white cake cupcakes I have left have half the wrapper separated from the cupcake.

2) Originally, I was going to add pink (the birthday girl’s favorite color is pink) to white chocolate to make the “5”s. This is the second time I’ve tried to do something like this with white chocolate and it’s been a *disaster*. White chocolate apparently does not melt – not like regular chocolate anyway. With regular chocolate, it gets to runny form, but white chocolate, not so much. At least not for me. So I ended up with a big pink blob of white chocolate that was malleable, but had no interest in being made into “5”s. Boo. Stupid white chocolate. It’s not even chocolate either actually – it’s a cocoa-less chocolate derivative. It shouldn’t even be called chocolate. Grumble grumble.

Since the pink-dyed white chocolate thing didn’t work, I decided to use pink sprinkles and then make yellow “5”s because I had yellow candy melts and yellow is girly right? Right. I think they turned out alright. And I’m banking on the five year-old not really caring what they look like.

Anyway, they’re done and now I can relax and enjoy the rest of my weekend, with an important lesson learned from another night of baking under my belt: don’t trust white chocolate with anything important.

October 26, 2012. Tags: , , . Buttercream, Chocolate, Cupcakes, Yellow cake.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

