Pumpkin Cookies with a Brown Sugar Glaze…What Up, Fall.

Recipe: A simple pumpkin and cinnamon cookie with a brown sugar glaze.

Tonight the low in DC is 53. And I’m officially calling it fall. As such, it’s time for jeans, sweaters, jackets, and any and all varieties of squash. Delicious, delicious squash. Today, in fact, has been a two squash day for me. Dinner was spaghetti squash – my first time having it – and it was awwwwesome. Then I decided I needed to continue my evening of squash and move right on to pumpkins. And what better way to celebrate the pumpkin than to make it into a cookie? And then slather it in a brown sugar icing.  (Oh and then using the remaining pumpkin puree for pumpkin soup tomorrow for dinner. Yeah fallllll.)

The cookie recipe is very straightforward. Butter, sugar, pumpkin puree, egg, salt, baking soda, and a little bit of cinnamon. Now I know most other pumpkin baked goods have numerous spices in them, but I gatta say, I’m kinda digging just using the cinnamon with the pumpkin. Then when you add a brown sugar glaze to it, it really is a nice balance and, well, I basically want to eat the entire batch of cookies….can you blame me?

September 24, 2012. Cookie, Pumpkin.

One Comment

  1. Deb replied:

    Dad wants to know where are the raisins ? ;>) Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

