Yeasted Sugar Cake (or, let’s try something new and different)

Recipe: A sweet, yeasted cake with a brown-sugar crusty top.

I have absolutely no idea what to expect from this cake. I decided this week I wanted to try something different than anything else I had ever done, and this one definitely fits the bill. Although I have to say, I have no idea how this is a cake, because so far the recipe sounds just like a loaf of bread. Yeast? Check. Sugar? Check. Flour? Check. Rising? Check. I have nothing to suggest – maybe I can provide more insight after I’ve tasted it, but right now your guess is as good as mine!

Anyway, the cake/bread is currently rising and, when it’s done, I’ll throw it in a cake pan (cake pan=cake?), brush it with melted butter and light brown sugar, let it rise again, then pop it in the oven. The recipe says to serve it warm, with whipped cream and fruit. Unfortunately, it will obviously no longer be warm by tomorrow afternoon, but I do plan to serve it with a side of blackberries (YUM. Can I just say that I bought blackberries at the store a few weeks ago for the first time in my life, and hello, blackberries, I love you. You’re delicious, not too seedy, and do not producing an overbearing flavor but are no wuss when it comes to flavor either. You are blackberry, and you are amazing. The end.).

Ok, so, this is a pretty boring post because, like I said, I have no connection with this cake whatsoever. I could go on and on about how I love yeast and kneeding and making yeasty things because I love the smell… but that’s all I got. In fact, I will tell you a story about my love of the yeast smell, because, hey, I got nothin else to write about. And here it is – I love the smell so much that when I worked at Papa Johns in high school, my favorite station in the store was the pizza-cutting/boxing station, because it also involved popping the crust bubbles and covering them up with toppings to make the pizzas look prettier. And when you popped the bubble, there’d be this amazing poof of yeast and it smelled so so good. Yum. Ok, and that’s the end of that story because, well, it probably makes me sound a little crazy…. so now I’m going to distract you with a bad joke – What is Miles Davis’ name in Canada?….

Wait for it…

Wait for it………

KILOMETERS Davis.

Ha.

Ok. Bad. Not as bad as my muffin joke, but apparently my brain only retains really awful, awful jokes (thank you for that one, Mr. Batkins). And on that note…

July 13, 2010. Cake.

One Comment

  1. Jan-Marie replied:

    I love all your postings. Do you think that your friends (and that’s what this is like – kitchen-table talk with a friend) think that you have to be 250 words of wit 24/7? Blackberries are a nice touch, but don’t forget to showcase the whipped cream… real, of course – it’s my favorite food next to GRAVY!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI